Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

QuoteLab.com

Auto Insurance in Wyoming

The State of Wyoming currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Wyoming law allows a law enforcement officer the right to request proof of insurance at any time. You do not have to be involved in an accident before you may be requested to provide proof of insurance. If the operator cannot show written proof of financial responsibility, the driver shall have seven (7) days to produce such proof. Any person who is convicted of violating this mandate may be fined not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750), imprisoned for not more than six (6) months, or both.

Wyoming Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Wyoming. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Wyoming are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $20,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Wyoming currently does not requires UM/UIM coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Wyoming is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Wyoming current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Wyoming SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Wyoming currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Wyoming DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Wyoming, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up 6 months imprisonment
  • Up to $750 fine
  • 90 day license suspension
  • Ignition interlock for 6 months if Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is above 0.15%
  • Substance abuse assessment

Additional Information on Wyoming Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Wyoming Insurance Department at (307) 777-7402 or go to their website at www.insurance.state.wy.us.

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in WY.